• S & Y Digital Marketing

Why Olympic Medals are Gold, Silver & Bronze | Awards Central Medals

The excitement for next year’s Tokyo Olympics piqued when the event’s medal designs were unveiled this July.

The organizers launched the “Tokyo 2020 Medal Project” which aimed to collate used electronics in Japan and turn them into medals for the event. A design competition was also held to really involve Japanese citizens to the historic gaming event. This is the first time that the Olympic medals will be made of recycled items.

Before these innovative medals, we are quite familiar that Olympic medals are gold, silver and bronze for the first, second and third placers respectively. But did you know how they came up with these tiers?

The winners of the first ever Olympic games in 1896 were awarded with olive wreaths and silver medals. It was only in 1904 wherein the gold, silver and bronze medals were used.

The main reason why gold is for the first, silver for the second and bronze for the third placer is due to the rarity of the metals. Gold, being the rarest of the three, has more value therefore given to the first place. Then next is silver and the most common metal in the bunch, bronze, for the third place.

Fun fact: the “gold medal” isn’t actually made of pure gold. Only 1.2% of it is made of gold while the rest of the component is silver. At the end of the day, it is more than just the monetary value but the embodiment of the sacrifices and efforts of the athletes.

At Awards Central Philippines, we have metal, acrylic and glass medals for you to choose from; perfect for sporting and recognition events.

Call us to know more!



Address: 877 Pantranco Compound, Brgy. Pasong Tamo, Quezon City, Philippines

Tel (Globe)0977 842 9273 

Tel (Globe)0917 188 2854

Tel (Globe): 0917 685 8008

Tel (Landline 1): (02) 7717 1151

Tel (Landline 2): (02) 7957 5030


Parañaque Branch (OPENING SOON!)

Address: No. 505 Roligon Compound,

Quirino Avenue, Brgy. Tambo,

Parañaque City, Philippines

Tel (Globe)0917 163 7236

Tel (Smart): 0961 259 2090


Cebu Branch

Address:  Hi-way Central Building

(former Royal Christian College)

M.C. Briones Highway, Mandaue City, Cebu, Philippines

Tel (Globe)0917 182 2328

Tel (Globe)0977 708 8286

Tel (Landline 1): (032) 353 3738

Tel (Landline 2): (032) 383 7532


Aklan Branch

Address:  294 19 Martyrs St.
Poblacion, Kalibo, Aklan, Philippines

Tel (Globe)0966 367 9241

Tel (Landline): (036) 500 6323


© Copyright 2017-2020 by Awards Central Philippines | Website Design by S & Y Digital Marketing